Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

2013 is Here!! January 1, 2013

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 10:28 am

I could look at the start of the new year as a blank slate, but slate is black and chalk is white and that sounds a little too boring.  I’d rather look upon it as a blank canvas.  Canvas is a white background that can be filled with a multitude of colors and I’m hoping 2013 will be a colorful, beautiful year!

Last night we rang in the new year with a party at our home.  We have been having the New Year’s Eve party ever since we were married…so over 20 years now.  We enjoy getting together with family and friends and playing a few games, eating lots of food and having a few cocktails.

 

Image

 

 

This year my menu consisted of Chimi Bites, Hot Crab Spread on little toasts, Hot Beef Spread on french bread, Sticky Balls, Queso Dip with Tostitos, Dogs ‘n’ Hogs (Lil Smokies wrapped in bacon cooked with brown sugar), Mini Bread bowl Spinach Dip, bean dip with Doritos, a cheese and cracker and meat tray, chips, Buffalo Chicken Wing Quesadillas with blue cheese and celery, gluten free cheese crackers, a Cheese Ball and Laughing Cow cheese wedges, a cookie and candy tray, and Baklava!  

Zach was a huge help in the kitchen all day getting everything cooked up!

After we ate I passed out some blank buttons and had everyone fill in their New Year’s resolutions.  Some were silly…

Image

 

like Jeff’s resolution to “Catch More Fish” and some were more serious goals, like mine…

Image

to become a Kops (which means I will hit my goal weight in 2013), Read 100 books (I have come close every year for the past 3 years but I always seem to miss it) and Get More Organized ( in my home life, at work I am so super organized that everyone teases me about it!)

Then we played one of my favorite games Sh*t Bucket.  Don’t ask me where it got it’s name, but with the right crowd this game is CRAZY!!

Image

 

Monica is laughing at Todd’s rendition of…hmmm…what was he trying to do?

I think in this picture Mark was doing the chicken dance…or maybe something else?

Image

 

And by this time Jeff and Janeen were cracking up at everything!

Image

 

After another trip to the bar

Image

we played some Catchphrase

Image

 

some 5 Second Rule

Image

 

and as some of us started to wind down…

Image

 

others were still ready to PARTY!!

Image

 

so PARTY we did!!

Image

 

At midnight I always serve “Fortune Cake.”  Each cupcake has a fortune or a prediction for the upcoming year.

Image

 

Here’s a toast to you in hopes that your New Year will be as special as I’m sure ours will be! Happy New Year!

Image

 

Leave a Reply

