Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Bookies Classic Book & Hat Night October 14, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 6:21 am

Every October our book club (amidst many moans & groans) chooses a classic to read.  While many of us do not enjoy reading the classics we feel it’s important to expand our horizons a little and discuss why these books have lingered on like they have.  This October the book we chose was Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen.

Several years ago I watched the movie version starring Keira Knightly and Matthew McFadyen and fell in love with it.  I purchased it (a rarity for me) and have watched it over and over.  The deluxe set I purchased included the book so I read that as well.  That was kind of backwards for me because if I know a movie spawned off a book 99% of the time I will read the book first because the book is almost always better.  I loved the book as well.  Not as much as the movie, but I loved it.  So when I found out Pride & Prejudice had won the vote I was thrilled.

The month before our review I heard many complaints of how the book was putting them to sleep or they just couldn’t get into the language of it.  I thought for sure it was going to rate poorly at review time but I was wrong.  Several of the ladies gave it a 4/5 stars.  And of course we all showed up for the review in our classic hats for the occasion!  Kaydi even dressed up in her grandma’s wedding dress!  It was awesome!

 

 

Back row L-R: Sharon, Lori, Amy, Lori N, Angie Front Row Sheila, Kaydi, Brenda

 

Leave a Reply

