Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Zach’s Giving Me Gray Hair Again! September 14, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 9:46 pm

Saturday Jeff and I were sitting in the living room enjoying a quiet evening when Zach came in the house and said in a somewhat wavery voice “Mom, I need to go to the hospital.”  I turned to look at him and I saw blood running down his leg and so I jumped up and got changed and grabbed a dish towel, dampened it and headed out to the car where he was waiting for me.  I opened his door to wrap the towel around his leg and he said “Don’t look at it mom, don’t look at it.”  Well, I did.  And I almost fainted!  It was bad and I knew I needed to get him to the hospital right away.

All the way in he was moaning in pain, but it wasn’t from the big gash in his leg, it was from the road rash on the other leg and pain in his side and his back.

We got to the hospital and they took him right in.  They called the orthopedic surgeon in to take a look at it and did some ultrasounds on his kidneys and tummy area looking for internal bleeding.

By 9pm they had him in the operating room.  They had to power wash him and do some debritment before they stitched him up.  He came out of the OR around 10pm and that’s when the doc came out to let us know everything had went well.  Luckily, he had no major nerve damage, and no major muscle damage.  AND, he hadn’t screwed up the area where his operation was.  Yeah, that’s right, where he gashed his leg was right below the kneecap he had surgery on!

By the time he got out of recovery and up to a regular room it was getting late and Jeff, who had been up since 3am that morning was falling asleep in every chair he sat in.  After the nurse had hooked up another IV drip, got Zach a box lunch and watched his vitals for a while we were almost ready to go.  We got home at 2 in the morning!

It’s been a couple of days now and he’s still in a lot of pain.  The doctor said he should only be on crutches for a day or two but his muscles and surgery area are still so sore I don’t think he will be off them for another few days.  He’s not a baby when it comes to pain so I know he’s really hurting.  When he had his knee surgery last year, he was off the crutches a lot earlier than he was supposed to.  Even though I could strangle the kid for getting himself in all these jams, I feel so bad for all he’s gone through.  Darn kid!

WARNING!!  EXPLICIT PHOTOS BELOW!  IF YOU GET QUEASY DO NOT SCROLL DOWN!!

 

 

I WARNED YOU!

 

 

OKAY, HERE IT IS!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And after surgery

 

 

Leave a Reply

