Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Troop Bike Ride (with a Dairy Queen for dessert!) August 20, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 11:58 am

Last Monday our Boy Scout troop went for a seventeen mile bike ride starting at the Nisswa City Park and culminating at the Northland Arboretum.  Zach and I had planned on going but his knee has been sore again lately and with vacation looming I didn’t want him to push it and be miserable while we were camping so I asked him not to go.  Unfortunately, that left me going by myself since I had already signed up to be one of the adult leaders and we always have to have two adults for any Scout function. 

We were supposed to leave Nisswa at 6pm sharp but one boy got there without a helmet so we had to find someone to borrow one from and one boy didn’t realize until he got there that his tire was low.  Once we got that monkey business taken care of we finally got under way about 6:30. 

The weather couldn’t have been more perfect.  It was sunny and 75 degrees with a nice slow breeze.  I got three miles down the road though and I was huffing and puffing to beat the band.  What was the deal?  I had gone on longer rides before and they hadn’t affected me like this!  Then I realized I was in first gear which means I was pedaling about three revolutions to everybody’s one!  I revved my handgrip shifter, or tried to, but it was froze tight!  I struggled on that way for the first half of the trip.  When we finally took our first break in Merrifield I had one of the boys see if he could work it loose.  He couldn’t, but he did manually move my chain to a higher gear for me.  From then on, the last half was a piece of cake and we rode into the trailhead in Brainerd at a few minutes after eight. 

After taking five minutes to rest and stretch out, we headed across the street to the Dairy Queen at the Westgate Mall where I quenched my thirst with a strawberry lemonade before catching a ride back to Nisswa to get my car.  It was a fun evening.  I really enjoy biking so I don’t know why it took me so long to get on a bike this summer.  Probably because it’s not near as fun doing it by yourself.  If I could only talk Janeen into it…!

 

Leave a Reply

