Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Highlight Reel July 23rd-30th, 2011 July 31, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 7:05 pm

Saturday- I was up at 4:30am this morning to watch my little Gracie girl.  Monica had to work mandatory overtime and had no sitter so I stepped in to help out.  It was still dark out so Gracie went back to sleep and as soon as she nodded off a big storm moved through.  Thankfully she slept through it all so I was able to get a little more shut-eye in as well.  In the evening Zach and I went over to mom & dad’s and sat by the fire and chatted until almost 10pm.

Sunday- Church, breakfast, then fishing on the Mighty Mississipp. 

Monday- Visited with Papa & Candy today for lunch, visited with Mom & Dad during the nightly news. Zach had his friend Eli over for the evening so it was a quiet night for me.

Tuesday- Could not for the life of me get to sleep.  I was up at 4:30 am this morning so you would have thought I would be zonked early.  Nope, still up at 1:30 am.  Man, I hope this doesn’t become a habit!

Wednesday-  It’s Mom’s week to watch Papa again and that means Dad’s on his own when it comes to meals.  Knowing how he “cooks” (peanut butter sandwich) I invited him over for chicken cordon bleu, mashed potatoes and gravy, buttered brussels sprouts and ice cream.  Dad had just picked some fresh cucumbers from the garden so Zach sliced some of them up for the table as well.  After Dad had went home Jeff and Zach drove down to the river for a quick dip to cool off.  The temperature today reached 85 degrees but the humidity made it feel warmer so they felt really refreshed by the time they made it home.  Too bad the deer flies about drove them nuts while they were there!

Thursday- nothing

Friday- Went in this evening to play cards with mom at Papa’s house.  For once I won!  I went home with a whole pocket full of change!

 

Leave a Reply

