Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Highlight Reel June 4th-10th, 2011 June 28, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 10:28 pm

Saturday-  Zach helped Dad drop a tree and then we went to town to get groceries.  The rest of the day was spent picking weeds, mowing, starting to wash the house and fishing.

Sunday-  perfect day!  (see previous post)

Monday- Hot!  Wasn’t ready for this heat.  All I could do after I came home from work was sit in front of the fan…until I got up to check to see what I had in the fridge for supper.  Upon noticing I had two 5 lb chubs of hamburger that had to be used or froze, I decided to get it cooked up for later in the week.  I made two pounds into hamburger patties, used 2 pounds for cabin casserole for supper, used two pounds for swedish meatballs that I can stick in the crockpot later, and just scrambled and browned the other 4 pounds and stuck those in the freezer.  Then while my supper was baking I baked up chicken breasts and shredded them for chicken enchiladas next week.  I felt really on top of things but I don’t know why I had to wait until the hottest day of the year to decide to bake and cook for 2 1/2 hours!

Tuesday-  Hotter still!  Today it got to 96 degrees and the humidity started.  Mom had her doctor’s appointment to find out what could be done about her loose screw (actually it’s broken, but it’s funnier to say the other way!) and found out they don’t have to do surgery unless it starts to bother her.  That’s great news!  I didn’t want to see her have to go through surgery again.  Jeff, Zach and I sat out on the patio for a couple of hours toight since it was much cooler than the house.  We are still waiting to hear from my nephew Bryan to see if him & Tony have had their baby yet.  As of now, they have been in the hospital for 12 hours!

Wednesday-  Much cooler today.  Almost chilly but I can handle that.  Zach worked his butt off today cleaning and getting ready for the backyeard campout this weekend.  His help was much appreciated!

Thursday-  Monica & Gracie came to visit us tonight.  They stayed for supper and even went out 4 wheeling for a while.  Then Gracie wanted to watch Dora, of course!

Friday-  Everyone’s coming over for the campout this weekend and we are finally ready.  Zach has the itinerary all planned out.  Should be loads of fun!

 

Leave a Reply

