Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

When does a Mom stop becoming a “Mom?” April 12, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 10:54 pm

You know what I mean.  Your babies will always be your babies.  I think this week with my youngest turning 16, inching toward adulthood but still so far away, I’ve been thinking a lot about what it means for your children to grow up and move away and the responsibility of adulthood to be lifted off your shoulders.  But then I realized that never really happens does it?  My oldest is now 21 and I still worry about him just as much as my youngest.  Is he driving safely, is he eating good, is he making the right decisions about his life, his love, his money and his job?  The worries never really go away, they just change as they get older don’t they?

So in answer to the question when does a Mom stop becoming a “Mom?”  As I look up from the darkened parking lot of the apartment building where my mom is staying  to see her standing in the window to make sure I get to my car safely, I know the answer is never…and I smile because I know I am loved.

 

2 Responses to “When does a Mom stop becoming a “Mom?””

  1. Sally DeRosier Says:

    You most certainly are loved, and you are right you never stop worring!!

  2. kadybug Says:

    I love you too Mom 🙂


Leave a Reply

