Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Happy Birthday Zach! April 10, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 9:26 pm

Last Wednesday, my baby turned 16, the year of cars, jobs, and increased independence- though not necessarily in that order.  For several days leading up to the big event he kept reminding me by doing the big countdown.  “Mom?  What’s in 3 days?  Yep!  My birthday!”  The next day I would hear “It’s only 2 more days ’til my birthday!” And finally, “Guess what tomorrow is!  Uh huh, it’s my birthday!”

To say he was excited about turning 16 would be a teensy bit of an understatement!  We always ask our children how they want to celebrate their birthdays and he choses to go bowling, then out for supper before having cake and ice cream.  Well, there are only so many hours in a day (after school) and we didn’t have enough time for all he had planned, so we decided to do bowling and supper and wait until the grandparents could join us for birthday cake,

We started off at Jack’s House.  We pulled in to see the parking lot packed which is a little unusual for a Wednesday afternoon.  Inside, we found the reason why.  Reserving a large portion of the bowling alley was a local group home with their residents.  Some of these were people I had taught for a while in a class I was taking and I was met with a hug by Craig.  It still amazes me that after almost 20 years he remembers me even though he sees me less than once a year.

We took our lane and started bowling.  I should probably preface this by saying- we suck!  None of us are good bowlers.  Zach and I usually get in one bowling night a year through Boy Scouts and Jeff gets to the alley about every 3-4 years.  So while we are racking up scores in the 50’s and 60’s I look to the left and I see 3 residents from the group home with scores like this:

 

Oh well, we were having fun and nobody else seemed to notice our ineptitude.  Fast forward to Sunday.  Finally able to get everybody together we had cake and ice cream this afternoon and Zach finally got to open his presents.  He got a shirt, socks, Mechanix gloves and money from us and an MP3 player from his grandparents.  He was more than happy not only with his gifts, but that Papa was able to join us as well.  It was a nice afternoon!

 

Leave a Reply

