Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Eric’s Eagle Court of Honor March 12, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 9:46 am

I love going to the Eagle Court of Honors my troop has.  By the time the boys make Eagle you have come to know most of them quite well.   Some of them have grown up before your very eyes from Tiger Cubs to Eagles.  Eric is the brother of one of the scouts I have had since 1st grade so him and his family have become special to us.  We have been on campouts together to0 numerous to mention and celebrated holiday themed parties together.

Attending Eric’s Eagle ceremony was bittersweet because I know he is growing up and will not be around for many more of these scout related events.  The ceremony however was beautiful.  I told myself I would not cry, and I did great- up until the part where Eric surprised me with a Mentor Pin.  The mentor pin is given by the scout to thank someone for helping them through scouts.  I was honored Eric chose me!

After the ceremony we were treated to a light luncheon.  Despite the dusting of snow we received, it was a beautiful day and I can’t wait for the next Eagle Court of Honor coming up in May.

 

Leave a Reply

