Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Modern Day Miracles January 8, 2011

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 12:33 am

Tonight in our Bible study class Henry, one of my 3rd year participants said “What we need is some good old-fashioned miracles like they had in the Old Testament.  Then people would believe.  There just aren’t miracles anymore.”  Henry, I beg to differ with you.  While miracles today aren’t as elaborate as the parting of the Red Sea, they are still around.  I have only to look at my own family to offer proof.  My son, Tyler was 3 months premature, weighing in at only 2 lbs. 2 oz. at his smallest.  Next week he turns 21 and you wouldn’t believe by looking at him today that he ever had such a tiny start.  My other son Zach came healthy (and big!) after two miscarriages.  My husband was kicked in the head by a horse when he was only 2 years old.  As his mother held his brains in his head waiting for the ambulance to come I’m sure she prayed.  The doctor at the hospital told her there was nothing he could do for him and the best thing would be to just make his final hours more comfortable.  My mother-in-law, trusting in the Lord wouldn’t settle for that and insisted they transfer him.  I thank her for that decision.

In the media we hear of a couple that loses their 3 children in a horrific car accident only to be blessed with triplets almost a year to the day later.  And how about Homeless DJ Ted Williams? I think the response to his cardboard sign has been pretty miraculous! 

So Henry, miracles are still among us.  Look around you.  What miracles do you see?

 

Leave a Reply

