Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Highlight Reel September 11th-17th, 2010 September 19, 2010

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 1:44 pm

Saturday-  Zach and I took the day and bummed around a little bit.  We went to the new Catholic book and gift store downtown.  It’s a very nice store and I’m glad we have one back in the community.  We also went over to the Bead Box bead store looking for some kind of bead we could put on braided hemp necklaces for our Boy Scout Patrol.  Zachary had never been there and was absolutely fascinated by all the thousands and thousands of different beads they had.  He loved the carved bone and polished rock beads the best.  Then we headed to Home Depot to pick up some landscaping rock to build a fire pit off to the side of our yard by the pines.  We christened it that evening by roasting wieners and marshmallows.

Sunday- received a call at 7:41 am that Nana had passed away an hour ago.  After breaking the news to my children I went to town to get groceries so I could put a few meals together for Papa, mom, my aunt Bonnie & my aunt Candy.  I figured they would be far too busy for the next couple of days to worry about cooking.  By the time I got home with the groceries my cousin Janeen had stopped by with a huge pan of lasagna and a cake.  After putting together a big crock pot of stew I went in to spend some time with my family.

Monday- went to work and after school picked Zach up from school so he could serve supper at the senior center and then we headed to scouts for our first meeting of the school year.

Tuesday-  Zach had physical therapy after school and I skipped out of book club.  I just didn’t feel like going.  We ended up at Mom’s where the family had gathered to eat the lasagna Janeen had dropped by.  It was yummy!

Wednesday-  Nana’s wake was today at Nelson Doran.  I had so many of my friends and coworkers show up.  It was really nice of everyone to stop by.

Thursday- a very difficult day.  Nana’s funeral was at 10am.  I really enjoyed seeing some of the relatives I don’t normally see, I just would rather it had been at a family reunion.  I came home with a backache and splitting headache so I laid down for a nap.  After supper I went to my first Bible study class that I am leading again this week.

Friday- Had the day off so Tyler and I went for lunch.  I did some shopping, Jeff & I went out for pizza,  and Zach went to the football game and spent the night with a friend.

 

Leave a Reply

