Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Labor Day Weekend Backyard Campout September 12, 2010

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 8:01 pm

Last Friday night we headed over to Zach’s assistant Scoutmaster’s home for a backyard campout.  We got there about 6:30pm and set up my tent.  Zach was sleeping inside on the hide-a-bed since getting up off the ground was still a little tricky on his knee.  That evening the boys played catch for a while and we all sat around the campfire.  The boys even roasted marshmallows.

Around 11pm I headed for the tent.  I had set aside an extra blanket at home to cover up with and completely forgot to bring it so I borrowed one from Mark.  I had dressed in jeans, two pairs of socks, a shirt, sweatshirt and fleece jacket but even with an extra blanket on top of my sleeping bag I was still cold as the temperature dipped to 40 degrees.  I guess my body has not gotten acclimated to the cooler fall temperatures yet.

The next morning we had pancakes and bacon for breakfast and sat around the campfire trying to warm up.  The boys played around a little with the air soft guns and after some time on the trampoline and lunch of brats, beans & chips we headed to the Gull Lake Dam for a little fishing.  Nothing seemed to be biting so the boys had time to put together a nice wildflower bouquet for me.

For supper that night we had a feast.  Alvin had brought some smoked hams and I made scalloped potatoes with cheese in the dutch oven.  We had corn on the cob and apple cobbler in the dutch oven.  It was all fantastic!  We spent the evening around the campfire again and the marshmallows once again made the rounds.

Having smartened up and put on some long johns and grabbed one more blanket I slept a lot better Saturday night until a fire truck went screaming by.  As I was peeling myself off the tent ceiling, I tried to listen to the neighbors talking out by the road.  It seems there was a fire at the campground just down the road.  After taking a trip to the bathroom I settled back to sleep for the night.

In the morning it was a breakfast of scrambled eggs with cheese and fried Spam which helped sustain us until we could tear down camp and head home.  Thanks Mark & Kris for having us at your home & hosting the backyard campout.  And a special thanks to Alvin for providing all the great food!

 

Leave a Reply

