Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Spoiled by a Beautiful Spring! April 20, 2010

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 12:10 pm

Normally, I hate Spring.  Most of you know my feelings about the dirty snow melt and the muddy, mucky mess it creates.  That was not the case this year.  The rain melted the snow quickly and the wind dried everything out just as fast.  Since then we have been experiencing warmer than normal temperatures to the point where it feels more like the beginning of summer rather than the middle of Spring.  It is making me a little nervous about what we might have still coming.  It can’t stay this nice straight on through can it?

Last year when we went camping in the middle of May we experienced snow and sleet!  What will we get when we take our May camping trip this year?

But today was a beautiful day and our family took advantage of it.  Zach and Jeff spent the afternoon fishing at a couple of bridges and Three Culverts.  The dock isn’t in at the Crow Wing Lake landing yet or they would have taken the boat out.  While they were fishing I put on shorts and a tank and grabbed my book and laid on the chaise on my patio for a couple of hours.  When they made it back we started the fire and I made goulash and we roasted wieners.  The first wiener over a fire for the season and it tasted soo good! Nothing like that smoky flavor!

It was so nice we stayed out for a while longer and played cards by the campfire.  During the summer months Zach and I spend almost every evening on the patio by the fire & playing cards.  I had forgotten how much I missed it over the winter.  I’m so happy we were able to start “patio season” earlier this year.  My husband fought putting the patio in.  He never thought we’d use it.  Boy was he wrong! (again!)

 

Leave a Reply

