Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

PARTY!! January 3, 2010

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 9:02 pm

It’s New Years Eve- what are you doing?  Are you at a home party like so many others are tonight?  I remember when I was younger the happening thing was to be in a bar when the clock struck midnight.  These days it’s safer for all to go to a friends house and celebrate there.  Jeff and I started having New Year’s Eve parties about 20 years ago.  It started out with just my brother-in-law and sister-in-law and a few board games or a movie.  Over the years various friends and relatives have been invited.  It’s always small and low key (I don’t have much room in my house) but the end result is still the same.  There’s always lots of food (yah-I take after my mother in that respect) and we always have a good time.

This year I took the day off to prepare for the party. I made glazed chicken wings, sticky balls, cocktail wieners in BBQ sauce, baked beans, hamburger spread, bean dip, cheese & crackers and meat tray, chips and dip, carrots & dip, tortilla roll-ups, spinach dip in a bread bowl, shrimp & cocktail sauce,  cookies & cream fluff,  caramel apple won ton bundles fondue & fortune cupcakes.

Attendees this year: Janeen & Al, Mark & Kris, Monica & Tyler, Jake, Andrew, Austin, Faye, Brady & Gracie as well as Jeff, Zach & I.

Played Getta Letter, Party Pictionary & CatchPhrase. Missed the ball drop at midnight (I was watching the wrong clock) but we still shot off plenty of confetti poppers and made a helluva mess.  We had a great time and when I finally dropped into bed it was about 3:45 am.

 

Leave a Reply

