Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

From One Party to the Next January 3, 2010

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 9:12 pm

My husband has always said : The DeRosier’s look for any excuse to party.  I like to say: We just like to have fun!  But it is true.  My parents and  aunts & uncles have held card parties on a weekly basis for years & years. My relatives or I have Superbowl parties, Memorial Day parties, Fourth of July parties, Labor Day parties, Halloween parties, Christmas parties, Mardi Gras parties, tailgate parties, Hockey opener parties, March Madness parties, birthday parties, as well as both New Year’s Eve parties and New Year’s Day parties. 

So even though I was exhausted after last night’s New Years Eve party I still had enough pep in me to get some turkey meatballs made and get my butt over to my cousin Trever’s house for his New Year’s Day party.  It’s a different group then who I see the night before (except for Janeen & Al).  We have football games all day (and of course a money board going on each!) and we eat & play games and cards all day. Trever had 2 different game systems hooked up to two different TVs downstairs which kept the kids occupied.  The party started at noon and was still going strong when I left a 6pm.

It’s a lot of fun to hook up with the cousins I no longer see on a weekly basis like we I used to at the card parties our parents started all those years ago.

 

Leave a Reply

