Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

A Day to Give Thanks November 30, 2009

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 12:56 pm

Thanksgiving this year was really a day to be thankful.  Of course most people when asked what they are thankful for will say God and family.  I say the same thing, because of God’s love and blessings I had my family with me this year.

In July of this year my parents were in a car accident.  They both sustained back injuries, but my mom’s were more severe.  She fractured her good leg (she’s had knee replacement surgery on the other one) and she crushed several vertebra.  Because of this she had to undergo surgery to insert several rods and screws to secure her spine.  Recovery has been a slow and painful process for her and at times she gets very frustrated with herself because she feels she should be recovering faster and be able to do more.

In all her stubborness, my mother decided she was going to have Thanksgiving this year even though she has difficulties being on her feet for any length of time.  I made her promise I could help but every time I got over there to do something she already had it done!  She kept telling me she would really need my help Thanksgiving morning to peel potatoes, whip up a banana cream pie, and set the table.  I set my alarm for 6:30am, took a guick shower and by the time I got there the table was set and the potatoes were peeled and in a pan of water.  Grr!  Amazingly, she did let me help with the pie.  And dad was a big helper as well.

My grandparents joined us a little after 10 and we were able to enjoy the wonderful meal my mother prepared before my oldest son left for work.  The only thing missing that would have made the day perfect was if my brother from California and his 2 children could have been with us.

All in all, a beautiful sunny day with some of my favorite people in the world, and wonderful “home cooked by mom” food.  It’s no wonder Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday.  Yep, I have much to be thankful for.  God is great indeed!

 

Leave a Reply

