Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Homemade September 10, 2009

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 12:23 pm

This year I spent a lot of time making homemade jellies and apple butter.  There is a certain amount of accomplishment taking something wild (chokecherries, plums) or something that you (or in this case my dad) has grown and peeling, dicing, cooking, straining, and jarring it until it’s a new product for your family to consume. 

I can see the appeal of people who want to give up the rat race of urban life and get back to nature.  Although I like making the jellies, the butters and the homemade cheeses, I think that is where it would end for me.  The idea of having to chop firewood in order to stay warm or milking goats for fresh milk sounds like too much work.  I do like my modern conveniences.  And while I could easily give up the TV (except maybe during hockey season) I don’t know that I could give up my laptop so willingly.

So, I will stick to the country cooking and harvesting (hazelnuts are almost ready) but I will keep my modern lifestyle as well.  It suits me just fine.

 

 

Leave a Reply

