Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

A WILD Day! June 25, 2009

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 7:17 am

Today I woke up earlier then usual to get ready for work.  I had to get Zachary to the church to catch the bus to Valleyfair.  But that is not what made it a wild day.

The drive in was scary- the fog was really thick.  But that is not what made it a wild day.

The humidity was stifling- it was hard to breath in the clotted air.  But that is not what made it a wild day.

The heavily hanging dark storm clouds rolled in and dumped rain on the city.  But that is not what made it a wild day.

At 3pm I punched out and traipsed  to my car.  I was on a mission.  I had somewhere important to go.  From the Wal-Mart parking lot I turned right onto Glory Road, then left onto 371 North, then right onto Washington Street.  I was heading to the civic center- and yes- this is where it got WILD!

I entered the civic center and it wasn’t only the cooler temperature inside that caused shivers to go up and down my spine.  I was here for the Minnesota Wild Road Tour.  Derek “The Boogeyman” Boogard and John Scott were going to be here signing autographs.  Being the huge Wild fan that I am (okay, I may be a little obsessed) there was no way I was going to miss out on getting my Wild jersey signed by one of my favorite left wingers.

Monica and Gracie met me there and we spent an hour and a half in line.  I’m not usually one who can stand waiting for anything, but this was an exception.  We watched the girls hockey team practice, the vendors selling hotdogs up and down the stairs, and the people in line squeeze nearer together as it got closer to 4pm.  When the hockey stars finally walked into the room it was a thrill for all.  Boogard is 6′ 7″ so he was easy to see over the top of everyone’s head as he swaggered in. 

The line started to move and we crept closer to the table.  I got out my camera and snapped a few pics as we got closer.  I DID get my jersey signed, I got some autographed pictures, talked to the players and the the Minnesota Wild announcers and left a happier woman.

And that is what made it a WILD day!

 

2 Responses to “A WILD Day!”

  1. Michael DeRosier Says:

    SIS!
    Your the only thing that was WILD about that day
    you are CRAZY!!!!!


Leave a Reply

