Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Mesmerizing June 13, 2009

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 5:44 pm

What is it about a fire that’s so mesmerizing?

One of my favorite things about camping is sitting around the fire.  I don’t have to be roasting a weiner or a marshmallow, I just have to BE there.  I don’t know if it’s the crackling of the wood, the dancing of the flames over the top of the logs, or the orange-red glow of the embers,  but it’s hard to take my eyes off it.  In the summer Zach and I spend a lot of time around a fire.  Most of the time we don’t even have to talk we just sit and listen to the crackling of the pine and the sounds of the night and think our own private thoughts.  It’s times like this that I feel the closest to him, because I know we are sharing something pretty special without having to say anything at all.

105_0115

 

Leave a Reply

