Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Highlight Reel May 23rd-29th, 2009 May 25, 2009

Filed under: Highlight Reel — Angie S. @ 7:24 pm

Saturday- Got up at 6am and got busy.  I did 2 loads of laundry, washed dishes, baked Rhubarb Crunchy Topped Muffins for us (click on Favorite Recipes tab at the top of the page to view recipe) and Peanut Blossom Bars and Princess Cookies for the church bake sale.  When the muffins came out of the oven I took some nice warm ones over to mom and dad for breakfast and visited them for a while.   At 10am I woke the boys up and we went to Little Falls for lunch and then I took them down to the dam to go fishing.  When we got home I sawed off 33 low hanging limbs off the pine trees on the edge of our yard, then took a shower and got ready for church.  After church (which Monica joined us for) we came home and made supper and picked up the limbs and hauled them away.  Jeff and Zach escaped to go fishing before I could find any more work for them to do and Monica and I took  trip into the woods and dug up some ferns to replace the ones Holly killed by sleeping on them, and a maple tree.  We  got those planted, did some raking, and hung up one of my two new birdhouses.  It was a very full but oddly relaxing kind of day.  A great start to my 9 days of vacation!

Sunday- I don’t usually have the luxury of enjoying Sunday as a day of rest (laundry and housework needs to get done sometime) but since I’m on vacation this week I decided to take full advantage of the sabbath.  After a trip to town to pick up Memorial Day flowers and a trip to two cemetaries we stopped at Gander Mountain for bait for tomorrow’s fishing trip and home to relax the rest of the day while Jeff & Zach went fishing.  I popped some ribs in the oven for supper and laid in the sun and read a magazine.

Monday- Packed a picnic lunch and did our traditional Memorial Day fishing trip.  Had such a good time we didn’t get home in time to fry up the fish we caught like we normally do!

Tuesday- Had a retreat and Potluck at Father Tony’s tonight for the Tri-Parish council.

Wednesday- Tyler had the day off and wanted to do something so we went to St Cloud for the afternoon.  Did some shopping, had lunch at the Olive Garden and had a great time.

Thursday- Janeen and I don’t get to see each other very much anymore since her schedule changed so we got together today and putzed around in Nisswa.  We shopped, had lunch and before we went home we stopped for a margarita.  (It wouldn’t be a Janeen and Angie get together without a margarita or two!)

Friday-Went to town early to pick up our paychecks and then went to a few rummage sales.  Picked up some flowers just in case I got ambitious enough to plant today (I didn’t, but I did get some work done in the beds).  I laid in the sun with a book for a while and then dropped Zach off at the motocross races while Jeff and I went out for supper.

 

Leave a Reply

