Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Twilight Release March 21, 2009

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 9:30 am

Yes…I was that crazy.  I attended the Twilight party at Wal-Mart.  What a nuthouse!  I have always told my children if they read a book and it turns into a movie I will either take them to the theater or buy the movie on video for them as a reward for reading.  As a result, I own all the Harry Potter movies and Eragon and a few other’s they’ve read.  Thus I found myself at the Twilight party. 

 

When I got there at 11:00 pm they had a table set up with a black frosted cake and red (like blood) punch.  They were also giving away a little gift package that had a few things in it but I was wandering around the store so I didn’t get one.  As it got closer to midnight I wandered back to the area where they had they pallet of videos and books shrinkwrapped and sitting on the salesfloor.  The crowd of people (mostly young teenage girls) that was kind of milling around before had started to get serious.  There was a group surrounding the prebuilt movie display about 3-4 feet back from it. 

My friends Sharon and Sarah were there so I started talking to them.  I looked up once to see thetwilight_movie_poster-7184 group of girls surrounding the movies were now plastered right against the display and they were not moving.  Knowing there was going to be total chaos at midnight when they took off the shrinkwrap I decided it was so not worth it standing there any longer.

So off I went to the electronics department where there were also going to be movies but for some reason no one else thought of that so I was first in line back there.  I was watching my watch…it was a few minutes to midnight.  Bill the electronics associate had my movie in his hands just waiting for the clock to strike 12:01am.  All of a sudden I heard a bunch of screaming from the middle of the store (yep-total chaos!).  Bill rung up my movie and bagged it, I paid and walked right past the group in the Twilight area that was still grabbing for movies.  I walked right past the checkouts where people were already standing 20-30 deep in line to pay and right out the doors chuckling.  Suckers!!!

 

3 Responses to “Twilight Release”

  1. Rosanne Says:

    Electronics is the place to be! Warm, friendly and always fast service! We rock!

  2. kadybug Says:

    We DO rock!!

  3. sdechantal Says:

    Blood suckers actually! Ha ha! I wish I would have known about it… I would have went just for giggles.


Leave a Reply

