Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

FrUsTrAtIoNs… February 20, 2009

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 5:18 pm

 

Dealing with the school system lately has become a point of frustration for me. Anyone who has a child with challenges/special needs probably knows what I am talking about. Zachary is in a waxing cycle again with his Tourette’s. Because of this, school is becoming harder for him to deal with. Boredom or not enough activity in the classroom is leading to behavior issues.
My frustration is in the fact that the teachers want to focus on the negatives and punishments for these issues instead of asking what they can do to help or utilizing the tools we have given them to deal with it. Zachary has his own aide that goes to each class with him but during the times when problems arise I ask him where his aide was and he always says she was helping another student. We fought for over a year to get an aide for him, but she is not being a help to him.
I’m sorry if it seems like I am complaining (and maybe I am) but I just had to get this off my chest before I come to the main point.
People are too quick to judge. Usually if there are behavior issues with a child there is an underlying reason. Larger class sizes have made it harder for the teachers to get to know each student they deal with on a daily basis. One wonders how they can effectively teach a student if they don’t know the student or which particular teaching style works best for them.  I believe instead of judging a child so quickly people need to take a step back and determine what else may be going on in this child’s life.  I can guarantee this approach will work better then sending them out of the class to behavior lab for behaviors they can’t even control.

 

One Response to “FrUsTrAtIoNs…”

  1. Rosanne Says:

    AMEN! My oldest son was diagnosed with ADHD in 3rd grade. It was a non stop battle with the school district we were in to finally get him on a Section 504 plan. Then we moved to another district, and we again started all over.
    My youngest son has had issues with school for a few years. He has not been diagnosed with anything; but it seems he was tagged as “one of the disruptive” children; and thereon the story goes. We finally pulled him out of regular public school and now he attends the AEC in Little Falls, where he is getting A’s and B’s and seems much happier.
    I agree wholeheartely with this post!


Leave a Reply

