Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Dishwater Hands January 25, 2009

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 7:29 pm

About 2 weeks before Christmas my dishwasher went out. It needs a new pump I think because the water doesn’t drain away. As someone who HATES to do dishes I told my husband that we would need to get it fixed RIGHT away. Well finances before Christmas prevented us from doing that and so the couple times a day dishwashing duty began.
I never thought I would say it but I’m liking it. Because we are a busy, going all the time family we try to at least sit around the table for a half hour a day and eat together. It’s our chance to catch up on everybody’s day. But once supper was over and the table washed off we would scatter like the wind to rush to a friends, catch up on work, etc.
Dishwashing duty has changed that. Now we have an extra 20 minutes where we are all working together to get things done. So I will contend with the dishwater hands and buy more hand lotion…for now. Just as long as it’s fixed when it’s my turn for the family Easter holiday.

 

Leave a Reply

