Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Working Up to Work Out January 24, 2009

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 10:10 am

One of my New Year’s Resolutions was to work out daily.  It was also my first resolution to bite the dust.  It’s not that I don’t like working out or that I find myself particularly lazy, I just don’t like doing it alone so I always find something better to do with my time.  A wise man once said (actually it was the father of a friend) “The hardest part about working out is putting on your tennis shoes.”  How true!

Once I get my shoes on I have committed to working out.  And once I start I enjoy it.  I feel healthier immediately (something about all that blood pumping) and I have a good time.  Janeen has always been my workout partner.  We started years ago as I tried to lose weight after the birth of my first son. Then when we started Weight Watchers at the same time we became even more intense.  It’s our chance to get together and catch up.  It’s easier in the warmer months when we can walk outside, harder in the winter months when all we want to do when we get home is throw a blanket on and watch a movie.  Such was the case last night.

Janeen called me Thursday night on her way to bowling and we agreed that we would get together Friday night since we were both free.  Friday after work she called to say she was feeling really lazy after a hard day at work and she was going to skip out on me.  Well, I told her I was not going to accept any more excuses and I “guilted” her (her words) into coming over.  It worked and we worked out. 

I’ve already done my workout this morning.  I’ve had my nudge.  No more excuses for me either.  I’m ready to start my New Year’s resolution.  I’ll let you know how I do!

 

Leave a Reply

