Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Goodbye Old Year, Hello New December 31, 2008

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 1:45 pm

Each December as the old year winds to a close I take some time to reflect on it and decide if the old year has been good to me.

2008 was definitely a year of health woes for my family.  My mom went through a total knee replacement, my dad’s gout became almost unbearable for him and kept him “chair ridden” for weeks at a time, Zach dislocated his knee and spent weeks in physical therapy, Tyler spent the night in the hospital due to an asthma attack, and his girlfriend Monica went through serious brain surgery.

All that alone would make you think 2008 was the most terrible year and that it’s time to usher in the new year.  But then to be fair, you also have to take a look at the highlights of the year and not just the lowlights.

2oo8 was also a year that blessed us with Tyler’s graduation night and party where we were able to spend time with family and friends.  It gave us the opportunity for Jeff and I to be healthy enough ourselves that we were able to help out my parents during their rough time and Zach and Tyler through theirs.  We were able to spend a lot of time this summer doing the things we love like boating, fishing and camping.  Zach was able to advance in Boy Scouts through hard work and perserverance and Tyler was able to add another truck (3 vehicles now!) a motorcycle and a snowmobile to his collection of toys.  And Jeff and I were able to practice our faith through masses, church activities and Bible studies.

So all in all, was 2008 a good year?  I would have to say yes.  Will I be happy to see it go?  Again I would have to say yes.  I’m anxious to start 2009.  There’s a lot of uncertainty… you never know what trials are ahead of you in the new year, but there’s a lot of hope too.  I’m excited to make this year the best ever for my family. 

As you reflect on your 2008 I hope you are thankful for last year’s blessings and may you have a safe and Happy 2009!

 

Leave a Reply

