Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!! November 27, 2008

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 2:19 pm

                                                                  100_2267

 

What a beautiful day!  I’m not talking about the weather (which was beautiful as well) but about the day in general.  Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays because there are no expectations.  It’s not a gift giving holiday like Christmas, nor a candy giving holiday like Halloween or Easter.  It’s just a simple holiday that gives us a chance to take a step back and realize that there is so much in our lives we have to be thankful for.

I was able to attend church today because we are blessed to have freedom of religion in this wonderful country of ours.  I think of people in other countries who could be slain for owning a Bible and I am saddened that they are not able to gather together with others of the same faith.

I was able to gather at my parents home.  I think of other people who are homeless and do not have a warm place to gather with family and friends and I thank God that I have never had to live on the streets.

 

I was able to enjoy a wonderful feast prepared by my mother.  I think of men, women and children for whom the pangs of hunger are a daily occurence and I feel blessed that my husband has always been able to provide for us so that we have never had to go hungry.

I enjoyed conversation with my parents, husband, children, aunt and grandparents and I think of those who are far from home and alone, or those who have no family to share the holiday with and I am thankful that all my family is healthy and can be together like this.

When we get down it’s easy to wonder why life doesn’t always go the way we’d like it to.  But in times like this (and especially on Thanksgiving day) we need to think about all we DO have and all the many blessings the Lord has given us and bend our knees and thank Him.

“Offer to God thanksgiving, and pay your vows to the Most High”          Psalm 50:14

 

One Response to “Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!!”

  1. Sheila Says:

    Excellent post Angie. I couldn’t agree more. I am not a fan of holidays – I find them painful.
    Yet when you describe Thanksgiving as the holiday of no expectations… a light went on. That is true…. and I may have to take off my “bah hum bug” for that day from now on –
    we really do have so much in our lives to be thankful for. I have seen the homeless, and fed children who live 365 days a year on the street. They may not have even known it was Thanksgiving.
    Thank you Angie for a bit of a wake up call for me. Happy Thanksgiving.


Leave a Reply

