Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Book Club November 14, 2008

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 4:32 am

I have belonged to a book club for about 8 years.  Through this book club I have read many great books and made many wonderful friends.   We always seem to have a great discussion about the book even if we all hated it!  This month our discussion was on The Wednesday Letters by Jason  Wright.  We liked it but not immensely.  It was a nice light read.

 

One of the fun things we do occasionally is meet at someone’s home instead of a restaurant.  When we meet at someone’s house we potluck it and try to theme it around the book.  For instance, when we read Wicked a lot of our food was green and when we read a book based in New York we had New York Style cheesecake.  It’s fun to see how creative some people get.

 

For this potluck we had a book with no definite theme.  Since the main characters of the book owned a bed and breakfast we tried to theme our foods around things that would be served at a B & B.  The food was great.  I made Baked Fruit (click on the Favorite Recipes Tab at the top of page for the recipe).

 

December’s book pick is traditionally a Christmas themed book.  We had many interesting books nominated but the one that won was A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens.  Although I’m not excited about reading this (didn’t like it when I read it the first time) I will keep an open mind just like I do during our classics month in October.  I will also read the runner up book The Case for Christmas by Lee Strobel and report on that.  When I’m reading I’m relaxed and happy so I guess you can’t beat that no matter what the title is!

 

2 Responses to “Book Club”

  1. Laura Christensen Says:

    Speaking of The Wednesday Letters, I work with Jason and thought you’d like knowing he has a new contest on his web site where you can win a free trip-for-two to his hometown in VA, the Shenandoah Valley. All you have to do is mail him a Christmas card! All the details are here:

    http://www.jasonfwright.com/triptosvalley.php

  2. kadybug Says:

    Thank you. I did see that when I went on Jason’s website. I will definitely enter.


Leave a Reply

