Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

Cool weather camping October 25, 2008

Filed under: Boy Scout Bluster — Angie S. @ 9:36 am

This weekend our Boy Scout Patrol went camping at Rock Lake.  I was a little apprehensive because I do not like cold weather and sleeping in a tent when it’s 30 degrees at night didn’t sound like fun to me and normally I LOVE to camp.  But I can honestly say I had a blast!  Our patrol is such a great group of boys.  I’m always calling them “my boys” because I feel like they are after all we’ve been through together over the years. 

Saturday , Zach and I got there first to set up camp.  We unpacked all our stuff and then played a game of ladder ball. (He came from behind to beat me).  We set our patrol flag up at the end of our site so the others could find us.  After they set up we started up a fire and proceeded to cook our supper.  Andrew made his famous Cabin Hotdish which was very yummy.  For dessert I made caramel sticky buns in the dutch oven.  After supper we did many different activities.  The boys went fishing and they played washers, texas hold ’em (!) and football.  They threw a frisbee for a while and gathered more wood.  We listened to the Wild game on the radio around the campfire and we all went crazy and cheered when they won in the shootout.  We listened to the all 80’s music show on the radio and the boys did the macarena!  They tired me out and I slept soundly all night long.  I didn’t even get cold!

Sunday morning after we chowed on Breakfast Burritos we stripped the bark off our scout staves and carved and whittled them.  Then we took them along on our 4 mile nature hike.  We found plenty of things to do for a service project and if we can get that set up we might go camping again next weekend!

All in all it was one of the funnest campouts we have ever been on.  We enjoyed it so much we vowed to make it an annual October event.

 

 

Leave a Reply

