Simply the Simmonds Life

family, life and love on the lake

I’m a Cheesehead! September 14, 2008

Filed under: Life's Musings — Angie S. @ 9:02 pm

     I am a cheesehead and no that does not mean I am a Packer’s fan.  I love cheese.  Recently I finished a book by Barbara Kingsolver titled Animal Vegetable, Miracle.  Excellent book!  The book tracks the family’s progress through a year living on what they produced, raised, or could buy locally.  One of the chapters dealt with making homemade cheese.  I was flabbergasted.  A normal everyday person can make cheese at home?!!

Sign me up!

I went to the website listed in the book www.cheesemaking.com and ordered the ingredients to make homemade mozzarella cheese.  I actually prefer cheddars and colbys but these harder cheeses require more ingredients and more expensive equipment like cheese presses and such.  I ordered my kit and 3 days later it was waiting on my doorstep.  So today Zach and I got everything together for our first attempt at making cheese.  It’s easy the book said.  It takes only 1/2 hour it emphasized.  Well, they don’t know me.  I thought surely it will take me several attempts and several hours to get anything even resembling what I buy at the supermarket.  But less then a half hour later after pulling the cheese like taffy until it was shiny Zach and I put our first pound of mozzarella in the fridge to firm up.

     An hour later we sat down for supper and the ball of mozzarella sat on the cheese board like a crown jewel.  With anticipation we sliced into it.  It was nice and firm and sliced like cheese but how would it taste?  The overall consensus was that it was fabulous and tasted just like CHEESE!  Zach and I had a lot of fun with our cheesemaking venture and since the kit makes 30 batches we will definitely be doing it again.

 

Leave a Reply

